## THE JOURNAL OF PHILOSOPHY

Contact: Alyssa Timin, Managing Editor (212) 854-3065 managingeditor@journalofphilosophy.org

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

## 2024 ISAAC LEVI PRIZE AWARDED TO GIACOMO MOLINARI

PHD STUDET AT THE UNIVERSITY OF BRISOL RECEIVES \$10,000 AND PUBLICATION OF PAPER, "DEFERENCE PRINCIPLES FOR IMPRECISE CREDENCES"

(New York, NY – 12/12/2024): The Journal of Philosophy, Inc., today announced the 2024 winner of the **Isaac Levi Prize**, a competition open to current philosophy graduate students and scholars who have received a Ph.D. within the past two years. Through a triple-blind review process, the prize committee selected the paper "**Deference Principles for Imprecise Credences" by Giacomo Molinari**, a PhD student at the University of Bristol. Molinari will receive \$10,000, and his paper will be published in the March 2025 issue of **The Journal of Philosophy**.

Molinari's website is here: <a href="https://giacomomolinari.github.io">https://giacomomolinari.github.io</a>

**Article abstract:** This essay gives an account of epistemic deference for agents with imprecise credences. I look at the two main imprecise deference principles in the literature, known as Identity Reflection and Pointwise Reflection. I show that Pointwise Reflection is strictly weaker than Identity Reflection, and argue that, if you are certain you will update by conditionalization, you should defer to your future self according to Identity Reflection. Then I give a more general justification for Pointwise and Identity Reflection from the assumption that you defer to someone whenever you consider their doxastic state to be better than yours, in the sense of leading to better decision-making.

The next prize deadline is **May 1**<sup>st</sup>, **2027**. In 2025 and 2026, instead of conducting the essay prize competition, conferences will be organized in New York City.

The Isaac Levi Prize was created in 2019 to honor and continue the intellectual legacy of philosopher Isaac Levi, who served as a longtime editor for *The Journal of Philosophy*. Past winners include Andrew Bollhagen, Daniel Hoek, and Akshath Jitendranath.

The award is intended to go to an article submitted to the *Journal* on the areas and themes that interested Levi. Those themes include decision theory, epistemology, formal epistemology, pragmatism (especially as developed by Peirce), philosophy of science, social choice theory, ethics of controversy, and the relevance of philosophy in these areas to public life. The prize competition was endowed by Levi's surviving family and is administered by the Journal of Philosophy, Inc. The committee to adjudicate the competition for the prize consists of Akeel Bilgrami, Jessica Collins, Haim Gaifman, Philip Kitcher, Cheryl Misak, Carol Rovane, Nils-Eric Sahlin, Teddy Seidenfeld, Scott J. Shapiro, Gila Sher, Rush Stewart, Anubav Vasudevan, and Achille C. Varzi.

**Isaac Levi** (June 30, 1930–December 25, 2018) was an American philosopher and the John Dewey Professor of Philosophy at Columbia University. One of the most creative and original philosophers of his generation, he made a name for himself with his first book, *Gambling with Truth* (A. Knopf 1967, MIT Press 1973), in which he offered a decision-theoretic

reconstruction of epistemology, with a close eye toward the classical pragmatist philosophers like William James and Charles Sanders Peirce. Levi was known for then developing a substantial and distinctive corpus of work in belief revision and imprecise probability. Particularly significant among his later books are *The Enterprise of Knowledge* (MIT Press 1980) and *Hard Choices* (Cambridge University Press 1986). The author of seven books and dozens of articles, Levi received his Ph.D. from Columbia University in 1957 and taught there from 1970 until his retirement in 2007.

The Journal of Philosophy publishes philosophical articles of current interest and encourages the exchange of ideas, especially the exploration of the borderline between philosophy and other disciplines. Contributors over the years include G. E. M. Anscombe, Noam Chomsky, Arthur Danto, John Dewey, Martha Nussbaum, W. V. Quine, John Rawls, Bertrand Russell, and Amartya Sen. Since its founding in 1904, it has been published from Columbia University. For more information, please visit www.journalofphilosophy.org.

###